> Investor Relations > Corporate Governance > Statement of Compliance

Corporate Governance: Statement of compliance

Declaration of conformity in accordance with section 161 of the AktG:

Declaration by the Management Board and the Supervisory Board in accordance
with section 161 of the AktG concerning the Corporate Governance Code

The Management Board and Supervisory Board of Hansa Group AG hereby declare that, since the submission of the most recent declaration of conformity on May 24, 2012, the Company has largely adhered to the recommendations of the Government Commission German Corporate Governance Code (www.corporate-governance-code.de) in the edition dated May 26, 2010 with the exception of 2.3.3, 3.8, 4.1.5, 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 4.2.5, 5.1.2, 5.3.1, 5.3.2, 5.3.3, 5.4.1, 5.4.3, 5.4.6 and 7.1.2 as defined below. Hansa Group AG has adhered to the recommendations in the edition dated May 15, 2012 since its publication in the Federal Gazette on June 15, 2012 with the exception of 3.8, 4.1.5, 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 5.1.2, 5.3.1, 5.3.2, 5.3.3, 5.4.1, 5.4.3 and 7.1.2 as defined below. The Management Board and Supervisory Board of Hansa Group AG will continue to adhere to the recommendations of the German Corporate Governance Code with these exceptions:

  • The Hansa Group AG Articles of Association have up to now made no provision for postal voting (Code, 2.3.3 in the edition dated May 26, 2010). Shareholders continue to have the option of commissioning a proxy appointed by the Company to exercise their voting rights, however. This provision facilitates the exercise of the shareholders’ rights even prior to the day of the Annual General Meeting. No significant benefits for the shareholders are therefore perceived in postal voting. The extra work and costs associated with postal voting are therefore eliminated.
  • This deviation (previously declared as a precautionary measure) from the German Corporate Governance Code no longer applies because the most recent edition of the German Corporate Governance Code of May 15, 2012 clarifies that there is no obligation to offer postal voting.
  • Since the legally mandatory deadline of July 1, 2010, the Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) liability insurance taken out for the members of the executive bodies has included the necessary deductible in the case of members of the Management Board (Code, 3.8). In the case of members of the Supervisory Board, the Company continues to be of the opinion that a deductible would not improve motivation and responsibility.
  • The Management Board should ensure diversity in filling managerial posts and aim, in particular, to take appropriate measures for the inclusion of female members (Code, 4.1.5). The Management Board diverges from the recommendations to the extent that it is guided in the filling of managerial posts solely by the qualifications of the candidates. This is considered the best fulfillment of the principle of equal treatment..
  • The Management Board does not have a chairperson (Code, 4.2.1). Reason: this is not deemed expedient, given the current composition of the Management Board, of only two members.
  • At the time of submission of this declaration of conformity, the existing contracts with the members of the Management Board do not make provision for (retrospective) adjustment to take account of positive or negative developments in the variable remuneration components already granted. Reason: the resultant deviation from the Code is explicable by the fact that existing agreements cannot be updated immediately. The Supervisory Board will implement the necessary modifications within the period set (Code, 4.2.3).
  • A remuneration report (Code, 4.2.5 in the edition of May 26, 2010) is not prepared. Reason: a separate remuneration report is considered unnecessary, since the system of remuneration for the members of the Management Board is explained in the context of the Corporate Governance Declaration. We reserve the right to revise this opinion and situation in the context of the corresponding legal provisions should need arise in future. The requirements of the Act on the Appropriateness of Management Board Compensation (VorstAG) will be implemented within the periods stipulated in the Act.
  • This deviation from the German Corporate Governance Code no longer applies because the Corporate Governance report must no longer contain a separate remuneration report according to the most recent edition of the German Corporate Governance Code of May 15, 2012.
  • The Supervisory Board thus diverges from the recommendations insofar as it is guided in the appointment of the Management Board solely by the qualifications of the candidates. An age limit for members of the Management Board has not been and will therefore not be set, nor will special measures for the inclusion of female members be taken (Code, 5.1.2). Reason: this would excessively restrict the Supervisory Board in its function of selecting suitable candidates for the Management Board and infringe the principle of equal treatment.
  • The Supervisory Board does not establish committees (Code, 5.3.1, 5.3.2 and 5.3.3). Reason: in view of its size of only three members, the Supervisory Board considers the formation of committees not to be expedient.
  • The Supervisory Board should, with due consideration of the corporate and business situation, and of the Company’s international activity, state for its composition specific targets which take due account of potential conflicts of interest, the number of independent Supervisory Board members in the sense of Code, 5.4.2, an age limit for members of the Supervisory Board, and diversity (Code, 5.4.1). The Supervisory Board does not wish to comply with this recommendation, as it believes that this would limit the flexibility of the Supervisory Board’s composition. Instead, the Supervisory Board is of the opinion that the ideal Supervisory Board candidate will have to be identified and appointed on a case-by-case basis. No age limit for members of the Supervisory Board has been set. Reason: Hansa Group AG perceives in an age limit a restriction on the shareholders’ right to elect the members of the Supervisory Board.
  • Proposed candidates for chairmanship of the Supervisory Board are not disclosed to the shareholders (Code, 5.4.3). Election of the chairperson of the Supervisory Board from its own number is part of the innate competence of the Supervisory Board itself. It should, therefore, remain with and reside in this body. Disclosure of the proposed candidates prior to final voting would impair the necessary secrecy of deliberation and could potentially have a discrediting effect on unsuccessful candidates.
  • The members of the Supervisory Board have in the past not received any performance-based remuneration and will also not receive such performance-based remuneration in the future (Code, 5.4.6 in the edition from May 26, 2010). Reason: Hansa Group AG considers appropriate fixed remuneration more suitable for reward of the controlling function and responsibilities, which must be exercised irrespective of the Company’s performance.
  • This deviation from the German Corporate Governance Code no longer applies because the most recent edition of the German Corporate Governance Code of May 15, 2012 no longer contains a recommendation for performance-based Supervisory Board remuneration.
  • Interim reports have not been and will not be published within 45 days, but instead within 60 days from the end of the reporting period. Contrary to the Code, the consolidated financial statements will not be published within 90 days, but rather directly upon completion (Code, 7.1.2). Reason: the Company in each case complies with its disclosure and publication obligations within the legally mandatory deadlines. For organizational reasons, and in view of the concomitant financial and organizational complexity, the Management Board and Supervisory Board consider any further shortening of the appurtenant deadlines not to be expedient.

Should further deviations from the German Corporate Governance Code arise during the fiscal year, Hansa Group AG will immediately update this declaration.

In our archives you may find former comments to the code

Comment to the Code as amended on 24.05.2012
Comment to the Code as amended on 24.05.2011
Comment to the Code as amended on 26.05.2010
Comment to the Code as amended on 18.06.2009
Comment to the Code as amended on 06.06.2008
Comment to the Code as amended on 14.06.2007
Comment to the Code as amended on 12.06.2006
Comment to the Code as amended on 02.06.2005
Comment to the Code as amended on 21.05.2003

> Investor Relations > Corporate Governance > Entsprechenserklärung

Corporate Governance: Entsprechenserklärung

Entsprechenserklärung nach § 161 AktG:

Erklärung von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat gemäß § 161 AktG zum Corporate Governance Kodex

Der Vorstand und der Aufsichtsrat der Hansa Group AG erklären hiermit, dass seit Abgabe der letzten Entsprechenserklärung am 24. Mai 2012 den vom Bundesministerium der Justiz im amtlichen Teil des elektronischen Bundesanzeigers bekannt gemachten Empfehlungen der „Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex” (www.corporate-governance-code.de) in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010 mit Ausnahme von Ziffer 2.3.3, 3.8, 4.1.5, 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 4.2.5, 5.1.2, 5.3.1, 5.3.2, 5.3.3, 5.4.1, 5.4.3, 5.4.6 und 7.1.2 wie nachstehend im Einzelnen erläutert entsprochen wurde. Den Empfehlungen in der Fassung vom 15. Mai 2012 entspricht die Hansa Group AG seit deren Bekanntmachung im Bundesanzeiger am 15. Juni 2012 mit Ausnahme von Ziffer 3.8, 4.1.5, 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 5.1.2, 5.3.1, 5.3.2, 5.3.3, 5.4.1, 5.4.3 und 7.1.2 wie nachstehend im Einzelnen erläutert. Der Vorstand und der Aufsichtsrat der Hansa Group AG werden auch in der Zukunft den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex mit diesen Abweichungen entsprechen.

  • Die Satzung der Hansa Group AG sieht bisher keine Briefwahl vor (Kodex Ziffer 2.3.3 in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010). Die Aktionäre haben aber weiterhin die Möglichkeit, einen von der Gesellschaft benannten Stimmrechtsvertreter zu beauftragen, das Stimmrecht auszuüben. Auf diese Weise wird die Ausübung der Aktionärsrechte, auch vor dem Tag der Hauptversammlung, bereits erleichtert. Ein substantieller Mehrwert für die Aktionäre durch die Briefwahl wird daher nicht gesehen. Der mit einer Briefwahl verbundene administrative Aufwand wird somit, auch im Hinblick auf die damit verbundenen Kosten, vermieden.
  • Diese (in der Vergangenheit vorsorglich erklärte) Abweichung vom Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex ist entfallen, weil die Neufassung des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex vom 15. Mai 2012 insofern klargestellt hat, dass keine Verpflichtung besteht, eine Briefwahl anzubieten.
  • Die für Organmitglieder abgeschlossene D&O Versicherung sieht den erforderlichen Selbstbehalt seit dem gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Termin 01. Juli 2010 für die Vorstandsmitglieder vor (Kodex Ziffer 3.8). Für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder besteht nach wie vor die Ansicht, dass Motivation und Verantwortung durch einen Selbstbehalt nicht verbessert werden.
  • Der Vorstand soll bei der Besetzung von Führungsfunktionen auf Vielfalt (Diversity) achten und dabei insbesondere eine angemessene Berücksichtigung von Frauen anstreben (Kodex Ziffer 4.1.5). Der Vorstand entspricht insoweit nicht den Empfehlungen, als er sich bei der Besetzung von Führungsfunktionen ausschließlich von der Qualifikation der zur Verfügung stehenden Personen leiten lässt. Es soll damit der Gleichbehandlungsgrundsatz beachtet werden.
  • Der Vorstand hat keinen Vorsitzenden (Kodex Ziffer 4.2.1). Begründung: Dies wird bei der derzeitigen Anzahl von zwei Vorstandsmitgliedern nicht als sinnvoll erachtet.
  • Zum Zeitpunkt der Abgabe dieser Entsprechenserklärung sehen die bestehenden Vorstandsverträge keine (nachträgliche) Berücksichtigung von positiven und negativen Entwicklungen bei bereits gewährten variablen Vergütungsteilen vor. Begründung: Die damit vorliegende Abweichung vom Kodex ist dadurch begründet, dass bestehende Verträge nicht sofort geändert werden können. Der Aufsichtsrat wird innerhalb der Umsetzungsfrist die notwendige Anpassung vornehmen (Kodex Ziffer 4.2.3).
  • Ein Vergütungsbericht (Kodex Ziffer 4.2.5 in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010) wird nicht erstellt. Begründung: Da im Rahmen der Corporate Governance Erklärung das Vergütungssystem für die Vorstandsmitglieder erläutert wird, halten wir einen separaten Vergütungsbericht für entbehrlich. Wir behalten uns vor, in Zukunft im Rahmen der entsprechenden gesetzlichen Regelungen zu reagieren. Die Vorgaben gemäß VorstAG werden in den dort genannten Fristen umgesetzt.
    Diese Abweichung vom Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex ist entfallen, weil der Corporate Governance Bericht nach der Neufassung des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex vom 15. Mai 2012 keinen separaten Vergütungsbericht mehr zu enthalten hat.
  • Der Aufsichtsrat entspricht insoweit nicht den Empfehlungen, als er sich bei der Besetzung des Vorstandes ausschließlich von der Qualifikation der Personen leiten lässt. Eine Altersgrenze für Vorstandsmitglieder und auch eine spezielle Berücksichtigung von Frauen wurde und wird daher nicht festgelegt (Kodex Ziffer 5.1.2). Begründung: Dies würde den Aufsichtsrat in der Auswahl geeigneter Vorstandsmitglieder zu sehr einschränken und den Gleichbehandlungsgrundsatz verletzen.
  • Ausschüsse des Aufsichtsrates werden nicht gebildet (Kodex Ziffer 5.3.1, 5.3.2 und 5.3.3). Begründung: Aufgrund der Größe von drei Mitgliedern hält der Aufsichtsrat eine Bildung von Ausschüssen für nicht sinnvoll.
  • Unter Beachtung der unternehmensspezifischen Situation sowie der internationalen Tätigkeit des Unternehmens soll der Aufsichtsrat für seine Zusammensetzung konkrete Ziele benennen, die potentielle Interessenkonflikte, die Anzahl der unabhängigen Aufsichtsratsmitglieder im Sinne von Nummer 5.4.2, eine festzulegende Altersgrenze für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder und Vielfalt (Diversity) berücksichtigen (Kodex Ziffer 5.4.1). Dieser Empfehlung möchte der Aufsichtsrat nicht entsprechen, da die Empfehlung aus seiner Sicht die erforderliche Flexibilität bei der Zusammensetzung des Aufsichtsrats einschränken würde. Der Aufsichtsrat ist stattdessen der Überzeugung, dass geeignete Kandidaten für den Aufsichtsrat von Fall zu Fall ermittelt und bestellt werden sollen. Eine Altersgrenze für Aufsichtsratsmitglieder wurde nicht festgelegt. Begründung: Die Hansa Group AG sieht darin eine Einschränkung des Rechts der Aktionäre, die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrates zu wählen.
  • Kandidatenvorschläge für den Aufsichtsratsvorsitz werden den Aktionären nicht bekannt gegeben (Kodex Ziffer 5.4.3). Die Wahl des Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden aus der Mitte des Aufsichtsrates ist dessen ureigene Kompetenz. Sie sollte daher auch in diesem Gremium verbleiben. Die Veröffentlichung von Kandidatenvorschlägen vor endgültiger Abstimmung berührt das Beratungsgeheimnis und ist geeignet, nicht zum Zuge gekommene Kandidaten zu diskreditieren.
  • Die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrates haben in der Vergangenheit und werden auch künftig keine erfolgsorientierte Vergütung erhalten (Kodex Ziffer 5.4.6 in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010). Begründung: Die Hansa Group AG hält eine angemessene feste Vergütung für besser geeignet, der unabhängig vom Unternehmenserfolg zu erfüllenden Kontrollfunktion Rechnung zu tragen.
  • Diese Abweichung vom Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex ist entfallen, weil die Empfehlung zur erfolgsorientierten Aufsichtsratsvergütung in der Neufassung des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex vom 15. Mai 2012 nicht mehr enthalten ist.
  • Zwischenberichte wurden und werden nicht binnen 45 Tagen nach Ende des Berichtszeitraums öffentlich zugänglich gemacht, sondern binnen 60 Tagen nach Ende des Berichtszeitraums. Der Konzernabschluss wird entgegen dem Kodex nicht innerhalb von 90 Tagen, sondern unverzüglich nach Fertigstellung, veröffentlicht werden (Kodex Ziffer 7.1.2). Begründung: Die Gesellschaft kommt ihren Veröffentlichungspflichten jeweils innerhalb der gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Fristen nach. Eine darüber hinaus gehende Verkürzung der Fristen halten Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat aus organisatorischen Gründen und angesichts des damit verbundenen Aufwands nicht für sinnvoll.

Sollten sich im laufenden Geschäftsjahr Abweichungen von der vorstehenden Erklärung ergeben, wird die Hansa Group AG unverzüglich eine Aktualisierung dieser Erklärung vornehmen.

In unserem Archiv finden Sie ältere Stellungnahmen zum Kodex

Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 24.05.2012
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 24.05.2011
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 26.05.2010
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 18.06.2009
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 06.06.2008
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 14.06.2007
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 12.06.2006
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 02.06.2005
Stellungnahme zum Kodex in der Fassung vom 21.05.2003