> Investor Relations > Corporate Governance > Declaration of Corporate Governance

Corporate Governance: Declaration of corporate governance

Corporate governance declaration in accordance
with section 289 a of the German commercial code (HGB)

The Corporate Governance methods of Hansa Group AG are based on the provisions of the German Stock Corporation Act. In addition, the Management Board and the Supervisory Board study in detail the recommendations of the edition of the German Corporate Governance Code applicable in the version valid at the time, and, with only few exceptions, pursue the recommendations by way of self-imposed obligation, taking due account of the size of the company and the structure of its administrative bodies.

Details of Corporate Governance practices:

Above and beyond the statutory requirements, Hansa Group AG submits in the context of its Compliance Program to a Code of Conduct which is available for public scrutiny on the Internet at:

Code of conduct

Cooperation between the Management Board and the Supervisory Board

Hansa Group AG has a dual leadership system characterized by the separation of duties between the Company’s management body (the Management Board) and supervisory body (the Supervisory Board) in accordance with legal requirements for German incorporated companies. The elements of Corporate Governance and monitoring are as follows:

Management Board monitoring and consulting duties performed by the Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board of Hansa Group AG consists of three members, who are in each case elected for a period of office up to the close of that Annual General Meeting which resolves upon approval of the actions of the Management and Supervisory Boards for the fourth fiscal year following the start of the period of office. The fiscal year in which the members take up their office is not included for the purpose of this calculation. The most recent election took place at the Annual General Meeting of August 2012, whereby the Supervisory Board members elected at this Annual General Meeting were elected for a period of office up to the close of that Annual General Meeting which resolves upon approval of the actions of the Management and Supervisory Board for fiscal year 2014 in accordance with the prevailing version of the Company’s Articles of Association. The Supervisory Board elects from its own number a chairman and a deputy chairman. It appoints and dismisses the members of the Management Board and is privy to all decisions of fundamental importance for the Company. The Supervisory Board, being made up of only three members, does not form committees.

The Supervisory Board oversees and advises the Management Board in the management of the Company’s business. Reports concerning business trends, planning, and the implementation of the latter, are submitted at regular intervals. The Supervisory Board approves the Annual Financial Statement, taking due account of the audit reports submitted by the auditor and oversees adherence to legal requirements and internal rules. All significant decisions by the Management Board are contingent on the approval of the Supervisory Board. The members of the Supervisory Board make their decisions independently and impartially, and are not bound by instructions given by third parties. Their work in the context of their Supervisory Board activity is conducted solely in the interest of the Company. The members of the Supervisory Board hold no mandates which conflict or could conflict with the business interests of Hansa Group AG or of any Hansa Group AG subsidiary.

Management and Corporate Governance by the Management Board

The Management Board of Hansa Group AG currently consists of two members. The Management Board manages the Company on its own responsibility, with the aim of assuring the continued existence of the Company as a going concern, and of achieving lasting enhancement of the Company’s enterprise value, taking due account of the needs and wishes of the shareholders, the Company’s employees and other groups with a justified interest in the Company (stakeholders). The Management Board is in this context responsible for the Company’s strategic orientation and for the planning and implementation of the Company’s corporate targets. The Management Board prepares Hansa Group AG’s quarterly and annual financial statements, and is responsible for ensuring adherence to legal requirements, official regulations and internal company standards. The members of the Management Board jointly bear responsibility for the entire management and governance of the Company. The Management Board informs the Supervisory Board promptly and comprehensively at regular intervals concerning all significant aspects of business development, planning, the risk situation, and compliance.

Cooperation between the Management Board and the Supervisory Board

The Management Board and the Supervisory Board cooperate closely in the interest of Hansa Group AG. The cooperation between the Management Board and the Supervisory Board and their respective functions are also set down in the respective statutes of these bodies, the main content of which is outlined in the rest of this report.

German Corporate Governance Code

The Management Board and the Supervisory Board of Hansa Group AG have studied in detail the recommendations of the edition of the German Corporate Governance Code applicable at the relevant time, taking due account of the size of the Company and the structure of its administrative bodies. The common target is management and control of the Company in such a way as to ensure long-term and lasting enhancement of the Company’s enterprise value while taking due account of the needs and wishes of stakeholders. Responsible and transparent Corporate Governance is intended to strengthen mutually trusting relations with business associates, shareholders and Hansa Group AG employees. This self-imposed obligation is reflected in the provisions of the Corporate Governance Code, whose fundamental principles are reviewed at regular intervals, taking account of all amendments, and the edition of May 26, 2010, as published in the Federal Gazette on July 2, 2012, as well as the current edition of May 15, 2012, as published in the Federal Gazette on June 15, 2012, on which this report is based.

> Investor Relations > Corporate Governance > Erklärung zur Unternehmensführung

Corporate Governance: Erklärung zur Unternehmensführung

Erklärung zur Unternehmensführung nach § 289 a HGB

Bei der Hansa Group AG fußen die Methoden der Unternehmensführung auf den Regelungen des Aktiengesetzes. Zusätzlich befassen sich Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat intensiv mit den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex in der jeweils gültigen Fassung und folgen den Empfehlungen im Wege der Selbstverpflichtung unter Berücksichtigung der Unternehmensgröße und Struktur der Verwaltungsorgane mit wenigen Ausnahmen.

Angaben zu Unternehmenführungspraktiken:

Die Hansa Group AG hat sich über die gesetzlichen Anforderungen hinaus im Rahmen ihres Compliance- Programms einem Verhaltenskodex unterworfen, der der Öffentlichkeit im Internet unter folgendem Link zugänglich ist:

Verhaltenskodex

Arbeitsweise von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat

Entsprechend den gesetzlichen Vorgaben für eine deutsche Aktiengesellschaft besteht bei der Hansa Group AG ein duales Führungssystem, das durch eine personelle Trennung zwischen dem Leitungs- (dem Vorstand) und dem Überwachungsorgan (dem Aufsichtsrat) gekennzeichnet ist. Die Elemente der Unternehmensleitung und Überwachung stellen sich wie folgt dar:

Überwachung und Beratung der Unternehmensleitung durch den Aufsichtsrat

Der Aufsichtsrat der Hansa Group AG besteht aus drei Mitgliedern, die jeweils für die Zeit bis zur Beendigung derjenigen Hauptversammlung gewählt werden, die über die Entlastung für das vierte Geschäftsjahr nach Beginn der Amtszeit beschließt. Hierbei wird das Geschäftsjahr, in dem sie ihr Amt antreten, nicht mitgerechnet. Die letzte Wahl fand in der Hauptversammlung im August 2012 statt, wobei die in dieser Hauptversammlung gewählten Aufsichtsratsmitglieder gemäß der damals gültigen Fassung der Satzung der Gesellschaft für eine Amtszeit bis zur Beendigung der Hauptversammlung, die über die Entlastung für das Geschäftsjahr 2014 beschließt, gewählt wurden. Der Aufsichtsrat wählt aus seiner Mitte einen Vorsitzenden und einen Stellvertreter. Er bestellt und beruft die Mitglieder des Vorstandes ab und ist in alle Entscheidungen eingebunden, die für das Unternehmen von grundlegender Bedeutung sind. Da der Aufsichtsrat von nur drei Mitgliedern gebildet wird, bildet er keine Ausschüsse.

Der Aufsichtsrat überwacht und berät den Vorstand bei der Führung der Geschäfte. In regelmäßigen Abständen wird über die Geschäftsentwicklung und die Planung sowie deren Umsetzung berichtet. Der Aufsichtsrat stellt den Jahresabschluss fest und billigt den Konzernabschluss unter Berücksichtigung der Prüfungsberichte des Abschlussprüfers, überwacht die Einhaltung der Rechtsvorschriften und unternehmensinternen Richtlinien. Wesentliche Vorstandsentscheidungen sind an die Zustimmung des Aufsichtsrates gebunden. Die Mitglieder des Aufsichtsrates sind in ihren Entscheidungen unabhängig und nicht an Weisungen Dritter gebunden. Ihr Handeln im Rahmen der Aufsichtsratstätigkeit erfolgt ausschließlich im Interesse der Gesellschaft. Sie unterhalten keine Mandate, die im Widerspruch zu den Geschäftsinteressen der Hansa Group AG oder einer Tochtergesellschaft stehen.

Leitung und Geschäftsführung durch den Vorstand

Der Vorstand der Hansa Group AG besteht zurzeit aus zwei Mitgliedern. Er leitet das Unternehmen eigenverantwortlich mit dem Bestreben, für den Bestand des Unternehmens zu sorgen und eine nachhaltige Steigerung des Unternehmenswertes zu erreichen unter Berücksichtigung der Belange der Aktionäre, Arbeitnehmer des Unternehmens und der sonstigen dem Unternehmen verbundenen Gruppen (Stakeholder). In diesem Zusammenhang ist er für die strategische Ausrichtung, die Planung und die Umsetzung der Unternehmensziele verantwortlich. Er stellt die Quartals- und Jahresabschlüsse der Hansa Group AG auf und sorgt für die Einhaltung von Rechtsvorschriften, behördlichen Regelungen und unternehmensinternen Vorschriften. Die Mitglieder des Vorstandes tragen gemeinsam die Verantwortung für die gesamte Unternehmensführung. Der Vorstand informiert den Aufsichtsrat regelmäßig, zeitnah und umfassend über alle wesentlichen Aspekte der Geschäftsentwicklung, der Planung, der Risikolage und der Compliance.

Zusammenwirken von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat arbeiten eng im Interesse der Hansa Group AG zusammen. Das Zusammenwirken von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat und deren Aufgaben ist im Einzelnen auch in den jeweiligen Geschäftsordnungen der Organe festgelegt, deren wesentlicher Inhalt vorstehend erläutert ist.

Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex

Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat der Hansa Group AG haben sich intensiv mit den Empfehlungen des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex in der jeweils aktuellen Fassung und unter Berücksichtigung der Unternehmensgröße und der Struktur der Verwaltungsorgane befasst. Gemeinsames Ziel ist eine auf langfristige Steigerung des Unternehmenswertes ausgerichtete Führung und Kontrolle unter Berücksichtigung der Belange der Stakeholder. Verantwortungsvolle und transparente Corporate Governance soll den vertrauensvollen Umgang mit Geschäftspartnern, Aktionären und Mitarbeitern der Hansa Group AG stärken. Diese Selbstverpflichtung findet Niederschlag in den Regelungen des Corporate Governance Kodex, dessen Grundsätze in regelmäßigen Abständen unter Beachtung aller Änderungen überprüft werden und in der Fassung vom 26. Mai 2010, veröffentlicht im Bundesanzeiger am 2. Juli 2010, sowie in der aktuellen Fassung vom 15. Mai 2012, letztere veröffentlicht im Bundesanzeiger am 15. Juni 2012, diesem Bericht zugrunde liegen.